First Year Hurling Win

The 1st year hurling group culminated today with an impressive win for the Glenstal hurlers. They beat Coláiste Mhuire (Askeaton) on a scoreline of 4-05 and 1-00. Injuries and absences meant that Glenstal had to call upon Harry Swan and Henry Farrell (both 2nd year) to reinforce the troops. It was Glenstal’s first game in Harty Park of Murroe and they have established it as a fortress with this powerful performance.

Having recovered from a knee injury, Tom Rooney established himself as a prolific scorer and a man for defences to fear, notching up an impressive 1-02 inside the first 10 minutes. That would be the last of Tom Rooney’s contribution, with the comeback was complete, he made way for Harry Swan to enter the fray. That didn’t stop the Glenstal attack as the ball remained in the Coláíste Mhuire half for the majority of the first 25 minutes. Despite some staunch defending and good quality goalkeeping, Coláiste Mhuire, would find themselves trailing 3-04 to no score at half time. Robert McNamara was working tirelessly in midfield and reaped just reward when he rattled the opposition’s net. Both he and Charlie McCartan would add a point each before Seamus Kerrisk raised a green flag on the stroke of half time.

Goalkeeper, Iarlaith Reilly, had little to do as any Coláiste Mhuire attacks were stopped abruptly by the defence with Patrick Johnson leading inspirationally from the back. In the second half, Glenstal kept the pressure on their opponents and another goal from Robert McNamara put a nice gloss on a fine individual performance. Robert McNamara added another point to his tally later in the half before Coláiste Mhuire worked the ball up the pitch and fired a torpedo like shot to the back of the net.

Ard Scoil Rís defeated both teams and with only one team progressing from the group, the win wasn’t enough to progress in the competition. That said, some fine performances over the two games give Glenstal hurling a good platform to work from heading into the U14 competition. Beaten finalists in this competition last year, this crop of players will be looking to go one step further and bring GAA silverware back to the Abbey.

Panel; Robert Burke, Nicholas Cunningham-Ash, Ben Gambs, Patrick Johnson, Josh Kennedy, Seamus Kerrisk, Ivor Larkin, Hugh Lawler, Angus MacDonald, Josh Matthews, Ben McCartan, Charlie McCartan, Chance McKeever, Robert McNamara, Bryan Murphy, Jack Neilan, Iarlaith Reilly, Tom Rooney, Ben Shippam, John Walsh.

Thomas Franklin