Fr Leahy Football blitz.


by Thomas Franklin

For the 20th year, Glenstal Abbey School, Newbridge College,  Cistercian College and  Rockwell College  met in Newbridge, Co. Kildare to contest the Fr. Leahy Football Blitz. Fr. Leahy was a passionate GAA man who won a senior school’s rugby cup with Newbridge and this tournament is played in his memory. With many 2nd years involved in other school activities, it was an under strength side that made its way to Newbridge from Murroe. That said, it gave some of the younger players the experience of playing against older boys. However, the physicality and experience of their opponents would be evident in the ensuing games.

The sequence of games was as follows:

Glenstal Abbey School versus Newbridge College

Glenstal Abbey School versus Cistercian College

Glenstal Abbey School versus Rockwell College

Eventual tournament winners, Newbridge, made little work of recording their first victory of the tournament defeating Glenstal in a repeat of last year’s final in the first game. Josh Kennedy was the only man to score for Glenstal as they succumbed to a more physical and skilfull Newbridge team. From the centre of the field, Josh Kennedy landed a long range point with the aid of the breeze mid way through the second half. It was also in this game, Glenstal lost the services of Charlie McCartan after he injured his ankle in a tackle. The second game was much the same where Glenstal conceded an even bigger physical advantage to their opponents, Roscrea. Jack Neilan was on target in this game when he chipped over the crossbar. It was the third game against Rockwell which saw Glenstal become more competitive. Rockwell came out on top but a goal and a point from Seamus Kerrisk gave Glenstal a much needed lift after two heavy defeats. A high ball was punched to the goal by Seamus Kerrisk before he booted another over the crossbar. Josh Kennedy was unlucky not to score a goal himself only his shot screamed past the post. Kieran Roche added another score but it wouldn’t help Glenstal to a win as the final whistle drew a close on the tournament. Well done to the boys who kept their heads high and their attitudes right in the face of a difficult challenge.

Glenstal Panel:

Josh Kennedy
Seamus Kerrisk
Robert Burke
Bryan Murphy
Iarlaith Reilly
Adam Byrne
Ben McCartan
Charlie McCartan
Jack Neilan
Hugh Lawler
Arthur Curran
James Shields
Ben Shippam
Ben Gambs
Lukasz Niscior
Michael Franklin
Dermott Hughes
Harry Whelehan
Kieran Roche
Liam Quinn-Berger
Seán Ryan-Prendiville
Micheál Ryan-Prendiville
George O’Leary
James Devine
Ian Larkin


Previous post: Volleyball Semi Final