Limerick City Cup Winners

SCT Win Limerick City Cup

By Paddy Molony (5th Year)

Glenstal SCT ran out victorious over  CCC in the Limerick City Cup Final at Thomand Park on Wednesday.

The Glenstal team were kicked to an early lead in the 3rd minute from a penalty thanks to the boot of fly-half Jack Stafford to make the score 3-0. Glenstal continued to dominate the first half but continuous pressure was answered by a stubborn CCC defence. Glenstal were hard hitting in defence with huge hits going in from the likes of Ben Clancy and John Murphy. Glenstal could have ended the half 9 points up but two Jack Stafford penalties were dropped short and pulled wide respectively.

Glenstal started the 2nd half with urgency and more clinical attacks which eventually paid off in the 38th minute as a break from John Murphy deep into the Crescent 22 metre line was followed by patient Glenstal drives and later the all-important George O’Hara try from 2 metres out.

Glenstal’s dominance continued into the 42nd minute when Jack Stafford stepped inside from 10 metres off the Crecscent line and scored a memorable try which was also converted by the scorer. The score went to 15-0.

Crescent came into the game bit by bit and scored a try in the 55th minute which was converted. Score 15-7.

Glenstal got right back at Crescent with one of their own tries through second centre Jamie McAleese and converted by Stafford. The score of 22-7 remained until the last play of the game until Crescent substitute prop scored under the posts for a consolation try which was converted.

The game finished 22-14 and the Limerick City Colm Tucker Cup was presented to Glenstal captain Tim Costigan.

It is Glenstal’s first piece of silverware since the 2011 Limerick City Cup win, and leaves the team in a strong position looking forward to the Munster Senior Cup later in the season.

Celebrations continued back at the school.

Glenstal Abbey Ravens XV: Ian Molloy, Matthew Ryan, Joe Hartnett, Alex Donohoe, Ben Clancy, Neilus Mulvihill, John Murphy, George O’Hara, Ryan Johnston, Jack Stafford, Bobby Fleming, Tim Costigan, Jamie McAleese, Michael Boland, Colm Hogan

Replacements: Luke Lynch, Paddy Molony, Henry Downing, Bernard Cosgrove, Will McGann, Rory Johnston, Gordon Daly,
David Kenny